A Full Day of Dolce

So I’m currently writing a paper for my Mass Communication class about advertising and I decided to focus on Dolce&Gabbana’s 2007 controversial ad campaigns. They were actually banned from some countries and got a lot of negative attention in the media. The picture that received the most criticism was this one. Can you guess why?
dolce-gabbana-ad-sexist

So I figured I’d take a break from my paper, but not a break from Dolce&Gabbana! I have to say that I don’t love this collection as much as I did the younger D&G line this season. If I had to use one word to describe the show it would be…SHOULDERS! The extremely exaggerated shapes dominated the show. The skirts were full, like at D&G but the shoulders really took center stage. The colours were mostly dark and a little somber in my opinion but there were a few stand out pieces like the hot pink and gold dresses pictured below. The designers really love their animal print and it was present at this show as well.

dolce-and-gab-3dolce-and-gab-5dolce-and-gab-6dolce-and-gab-2

Leave a Reply

